About Us

Our Story

Student Activities and Organizations is well integrated into the campus community and encompasses the Student Activities Board with over 100 programs a year, the Student Organization Office supporting over 450 registered groups, and the Student Government Association advocating on behalf of all our students. We also offer ECU traditional major events and our amazing Homecoming Spirit Week.

Our mission is to contribute to the holistic student experience through student development and involvement. We will: Engage, Entertain, and Educate.


Meet Our Team

  • Christopher Cooper
    • Coordinator for Organization Development
    • cooperch14@ecu.edu
    • Reach out to him for assistance with OrgSync, managing your student organization, and for help getting involved on campus.
  • Krista Wilhelm
    • Assistant Director for Organization Development
    • wilhelmk@ecu.edu
    • She provides all the great leadership and skill building workshops we create and provide for student organization leaders.
  • Joshua Lockhart
    • Coordinator for Student Programming
    • lockhartj17@ecu.edu
    • He advises our Student Activities Board Films Committee and Initiatives Committee. These oversee our weekly films series and the great educational conversations we have on campus.
  • Emily Reynolds
    • Coordinator for Student Programming
    • Reynoldse17@ecu.edu
    • She advises our Student Activities Board Entertainment Committee and Arts Committee. These oversee the 7:07 series of comedians, hypnotists, and more along with the weekly “Make Your Own” arts series.
  • Darrius Barrow
    • Assistant Director for Student Programming
    • Barrowd14@ecu.edu
    • He leads the advisement of the Student Activities Board, directly supervises the President and Vice President, and supervises the two coordinators for student programming.
  • Aleshia Hunt
    • SGA Financial Advisor
    • hunta@ecu.edu
    • She advises the SGA Treasurer and guides the appropriations process allocating money to registered student organizations for their events, travel, and needed supplies.
  • Emily Theys
    • Coordinator for Graduate & Professional Student Engagement
    • theyse18@ecu.edu
    • She leads programming efforts on the Health Sciences campus and for graduate and professional students. She also assists with advising the Interprofessional Health Sciences Student Leadership Council (IHSSLC) as well as the Graduate & Professional Student Senate (GPSS).
  • Hank Bowen
    • Associate Director of Student Activities and Organizations
    • bowenh@ecu.edu
    • He advises the Student Government Association working closely with the President, executive board, and assembly to help them best advocate for their fellow students.
  • Justin Janak
    • Director of Student Activities and Organizations
    • janakj@ecu.edu
    • Overseeing the vision and goals for programming, organization development, and the student advocacy initiatives of the office.
  • Darlene Langley
    • Administrative Assistant
    • langleyd@ecu.edu
    • She manages office processes and can point you in the right direction for the answers to your activities and organizations questions.

Be A Sponsor

Whether you are looking to give back to your alma mater or a business seeking engagement with thousands of ECU students look no further than giving or a sponsorship with Student Activities and Organizations. Contact Keith Tingley, tingleyk@ecu.edu, to start the conversation today!